California Senate Republicans unanimously elect Sen. Brian Jones as Republican Caucus Chair

Outgoing Senate Republican Leader Patricia Bates (R-Laguna Niguel) and Senate Republican Leader-Elect Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield) announced today that the Senate Republican Caucus has unanimously elected Senator Brian Jones (R-Santee) as the new Caucus Chair, effective March 1st.

“I congratulate Brian Jones and also commend Jim Nielsen for being a great partner and co-leader during my tenure as Senate Republican Leader,” said Senate Republican Leader Bates.

Leader-Elect Grove said, “Senator Jones and I have a great working relationship that began while we served in the Assembly. I have great respect for him and the strengths he brings to the Republican Caucus leadership team.”

Senator Jones said, I look forward to working with incoming Senate Republican Leader Shannon Grove to consistently and effectively communicate and advocate for the policies of the Senate Republican CaucusI also commit to help all Senators, and particularly Senate President proTem Toni Atkins, in the continued smooth operation of the Senate.»

Senator Jones replaces outgoing Caucus Chair Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Tehama) who will remain in a leadership role as “Dean of the Legislature” and Vice-Chair of the Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee.

Nielsen said, “Congratulations to Senator Jones for being elected as Chair of the Senate Republican Caucus. I look forward to working with him.”

The Caucus Chair is the number two position in the Republican leadership structure. Senator Jones will assist the Leader in overseeing caucus operations, advancing the Republican message, and achieving the Caucus legislative goals.